You are currently viewing The Daily Feature: Celebrate 25 Years of D’Sound With “Flashback”

The Daily Feature: Celebrate 25 Years of D’Sound With “Flashback”

Today’s track is “Flashback” by Norweigan Neo-Soul/Nu Jazz band D’Sound. This track was released to celebrate the forthcoming 25th-anniversary collab album 25 due for release this Friday (January 21st, 2022). It features the original D’Sound lineup with vocalist Simone Eriksrud together with her “soulmates” Kim Ofstad (drums) and Jonny Sjo (bass).

“Flashback” is one song that fans of any musical genre will love! It is a track that is sexy yet sophisticated at the same time. Simone’s vocals seduce listeners with their sultry yet melodic tones. The tune also features nostalgic vibes in the laid-back instrumentation. This was done to celebrate the band’s 25th anniversary: bring back the band’s original soundscape but update in a way that is sophisticated and innovated. Listeners will not get enough of “Flashback” as it is a sultry yet chilled piece that is filled with so many delicious musical flavors.

Make sure to check out “Flashback” down below. Let me know what you think in the comments!

About the Artist: D’Sound


D’Sound consists of drummer Kim and bass player Jonny. The band members consider D’Sound as a modern pop band with flavors of neo-soul, jazz, or funk. When D’Sound was formed in 1993 the lineup was Simone Eriksrud, Jonny Sjo, and Kim Ofstad. They had their first rehearsals in a damp Oslo basement.

The band hit the Norwegian charts with the single “Real Name” in 1996 and went on to be the most played song on the radio that year. Their debut album, Spice of Life”, was subsequently released at the beginning of 1997, and established D’Sound as a band of major significance on the Norwegian music scene. Their fusion of elements from acid jazz, neo-soul, soul, funk, pop, and drum’n’bass created a distinct and international sound, deservedly praised by both critics and the record-buying public.

In 2018 Simone decided to leave D’Sound and the band will continue to release new material with featured vocalists. D’Sound’s first new release featuring Mirjam Omdal was titled “It’s Just Me”. Later 2018 they released the single “Join me in My Head” with Mirjam, and in January 2019 came their third single “Mr. Unicorn” – one of the ten finalists in the Norwegian national selection for the Eurovision Song Contest.

Make sure to check out D’Sound at the following:

Official Site | Spotify | Facebook | Instagram | Youtube

Pin This!

The Daily Feature: Celebrate 25 Years of D'Sound With "Flashback"

This Post Has 6 Comments

  1. sambo

    very powerful band, I like their music a lot. Thank you for this post.

  2. Amy Liu Dong

    I once heard their music and it’s really beautiful, and I will definitely listening to their music again!

  3. itsahero

    Has it really been that long already!?!

  4. mosaic murals

    I’ve never heard of them but they’re amazing! Super like!!! Thank you so much for sharing these cool music with us.

Leave a Reply